Stemcelldoc's Weblog

November 11, 2012

Successful Stem Cell Treatment in Collegiate Field and Track Athlete: Update

Stem cell therapy is an alternative to traditional ankle surgery as discussed in a prior blog.

KW is a 21 y/o university track and field athlete whose ankle pain restricted her ability to compete.

At the Centeno-Schultz Clinic in 8/2011 she underwent Regenexx SD for cartilage loss in the tibial-talar joint(ankle).  In addition she underwent the following therapies:

– prolotherapy of the loose ankle ligaments

-Epidural injections of platelet derived growth factors:  Regenexx PL-disc.

-Injection of the loose spinal ligaments with Regenexx DDD.

KW recently emailed me with an update which she has allowed me to share.

 ”Hello Dr. Schultz,

It’s been a while since I have updated you on my progress and I felt that I had to share how well I have been doing.

I had my procedure done on my ankle last August. Until the past few months, I kept expecting something to go wrong or for my ankle to begin hurting again because it just felt too good to be true. However, I honestly can say that I believed I am healed and 100%. It took about 6 months post-injection for the pain and stiffness to stop, and since then I have been training to gain back my endurance and strength for running.
I am participating in weight lifting, hurdle drills and most importantly back to running 60+ miles a week with NO pain or stiffness in my ankle joint.

I feel so blessed to have had this opportunity…I am applying to medical school this coming year, and it was your compassion and high quality of patient care that has really pushed me to do so. This treatment and the concept of stem-cell is fascinating, and I anticipate future advances in medicine and treatments involving stem-cells. Thank you for helping me run again and for strengthening a passion of mine!”

Fantastic!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

